And You Will Know My Power [Monthly Mix]

Over the past few weeks, I’ve thought a lot about power. Who has it. How they got it. How they keep it. How they make it known. I have felt powerless and powerful. You probably have, too.

It almost felt silly to get back to making and posting monthly mixes–there are more important things to be thinking about, and writing about–but over the past few weeks I have realized how important it is to appreciate good music, and good books, and good art. There is so much beauty in the world, and nothing can take that away. And every day people are adding beauty to it, and nothing can stop that. These are the songs that are making me feel power these days. I hope you can feel it, too.

“Gone,” Parlour Tricks

If you love Lucius (and if you don’t WHY NOT, YOU ARE WRONG, OR UNINFORMED) you will also like Parlour Trick. Throwback power pop with female harmonies PLUS coordinated outfits and choreography is a magic formula and it’s kind of amazing to me that there isn’t more of this happening right now.

“The Punisher,” Lucius

Speaking of Lucius! (And when am I not?) What a delight to receive this mid-album cycle single! Unfortunately there’s no official video, but really their music speaks for itself. I did find out they’re back in the studio right now (!!!) so there is hopefully more Lucius to come this year.

“I Got You,” Seramic

Mostly sharing this one for the super fun synchronized swimming video. It’s been six months since Closing Ceremonies and I’m already anxious for 2020.

“Mausoleum,” Seryn

Read this one through the imagined sound of my tears, because I am SO SAD that Seryn is no more. They announced their breakup in December and I’m still working on accepting it. Thankfully they gifted us with a fantastic recording of this one last song. And it is a beauty, as good as anything in their perfect catalog.

“Wild Fire,” Laura Marling

Laura’s new album comes out on March 10th (happy belated birthday to me!) and Lauren and I get to see her in May and all is right with the world. Or will be. It will be…right?!

“No Known Drink or Drug,” Japandroids

The most baffling thing about my friendship with Lauren continues to be our polarized reactions to Japandroids. I think they have put out two of the best rock albums of the past decade, and some of my absolute favorite music ever, and she thinks they’re the absolute worst thing she has ever heard. We agree on SO MUCH, even really weird stuff. Who’s right? Obviously me, but please tell me I’m not alone on this.

“Be So,” Crying Boys Cafe

I like this song primarily for its percussiveness and overall instrumentation. I found it in one of my Discover Weekly playlists (thanks, Spotify!) and was an instant fan.

“(No One Knows Me) Like the Piano,” Sampha

If you listen to one complete album this month, let it be Sampha’s debut album, “Process.””No one knows me like the piano in my mother’s home” is the best lyric I’ve heard in a long time. It reminds me of listening to my brother playing my great-grandmother’s piano in our mom’s house. It reminds me of how much emotion we pour into art, and how known we can be by pouring our whole selves into an unknowable thing.

These are just some highlights, there is even more goodness in the full mix below. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

