I Want to Feel It All [Monthly Mix]

We may be 2/3 of the way through this month, but if you ask me, it’s never too late for a monthly mix. A big part of the reason this is posting today, and not three weeks ago like it should have, is because I am just now reacquainting myself with non-Hamilton music. It’s safe to say an accurate version of my month in music, up until about a week ago, would simply be the soundtrack to the best musical of 2015, but now that the holidays are almost here I’ve been reminded of the charms of…other music.

This is music for walking down a bare street on a windy day, and pulling my coat in just a little tighter while the sun shines on my face.

A few highlights I want to point out:

There is a line in “Downtown” by Majical Cloudz that I am just so in love with: “And if suddenly I die/I hope they will say/That he was obsessed and it was okay.” That about sums it up.

I included a song off Grimes’ new album, Art Angels, which by the way is INCREDIBLE and a perfect example of why pop music can absolutely be smart, sophisticated, and surprising while still being super fun. “Kill V. Maim” is a perfect, weird little gem of a pop song, with a truly killer (heh heh) name. Other amazing song titles coming off that album: “laughing and not being normal,” “Flesh without Blood,” “Belly of the Beat.” (“Kill V. Maim” doesn’t have one yet, but here is another great example of Grimes is killing it at being great/fun/weird/scary all at the same time.)

As I listened back to the mix as a whole, I realized how sad and slow-jammy it is, which I can only assume is a product of early-onset Seasonal Affective Disorder. Plus, I just really like sad songs. It also has an element of the unexpected–sad songs that sound happy, happy songs that sound sad. That’s just really connecting with me these days, I guess. And Adele. Of course.

I only included one Christmas song, and it’s an original by the fantastically talented Jon & Valerie Guerra, from their new album It’s Almost Christmas, which you should most definitely listen to ASAP. They were personally selected by AMY GRANT, THE QUEEN OF CHRISTMAS MUSIC, to open her Nashville Christmas shows, so if that isn’t enough of an endorsement for you, I truly don’t know what ever could be.

Next month (aka next week) I’ll be back with an entire Christmas-themed mix, so hold onto your elf ears and Santa hats!

spotify:user:lmarieleonard:playlist:2jqxAmomHGUxdqg5xkP5xc

2 thoughts on “I Want to Feel It All [Monthly Mix]

Leave a Reply

