New tunes for the new year [Monthly Mix]

Happy New Year!

Aren’t you glad to leave 2013 behind? A year ago, someone told me that 2013 was the year of the water snake which apparently meant it was going to be a terrible year. At first I was like, I don’t remember ever seeing a “water snake” on the paper placemats at the Chinese restaurant I went to as a child (Tigers unite!) and then I was like, I don’t believe in those kinds of superstitions.

But then the year unfolded and I was like, ok, yeah, I can kind of see that this is a particularly tough year for a lot of people. There’s something to this whole “water snake” thing. While – for me – the year wasn’t terrible, it was… a little rough. Rough – but peppered with some truly beautiful and fun memories. But, rough.

So, I’m looking forward to 2014 with great anticipation. My year will be filled with a lot of newness, and I’m really, really ready for that. I know that today is just a new day, like any other, but there’s something special about looking forward to a brand new year full of possibility. So many great things can happen this year! Of course, lots of bad things can happen too, sure, but if nothing else, Mad Men comes back, so we can all find comfort in that.

Enjoy this January mix filled with lots of new stuff… and Steve Winwood.

Leave a Reply

