Spring Music Guide

Tuesdays are my favorite (non-weekend or Friday) day of the week. Why? Because Tuesday is new music day. Every Tuesday morning a whole new set of albums gets released into the world (for my purposes, Amazon and Spotify) and I get to go on the hunt for new favorites. The first few months of this year have been pretty sparse (JT notwithstanding) but the lineup really heats up over the next few months.

Here are the 10 albums I am most excited about this spring (check out the full list of releases here). Most of these I’ve been anticipating for quite awhile, sometimes years, and some I just found out about today. But if these lead singles are any indication, we have a pretty great spring ahead.

April 16th

Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Mosquito

Ahhhh they’re not playing Lollapalooza! But they ARE playing Summerfest, so hopefully I’ll finally get a chance to see one of my idols, Karen O, perform live.


April 23rd

Phoenix, Bankrupt!

I’ve been waiting for this for years. I can’t remember the last time I was this excited for an album. Did you see them on SNL? So good!

The Neighbourhood, I Love You

These are the “Sweater Weather” guys and they are poised for a breakout year with the release of their first full-length album.


May 7th

Fitz & the Tantrums, More than Just a Dream

Remember “Moneygrabber”? That really fun, catchy neosoul tune that I cannot for the life of me sing? Last summer I saw them at Taste of Chicago and it rained and we danced and it was so cathartic and fun.

Patty Griffin, American Kid

One of the all-time greats. Bonfire music.

She & Him, Volume 3

No one does sunny pop like Zooey. And M. Ward adds a little weight to their always delightful joint project.

Vampire Weekend, Modern Vampires of the City

Another band that is synonymous with warm weather, dancing, and fun times with friends.


May 21st

Daft Punk, Random Access Memories

Daft Punk will most definitely be playing at my house…parties…dance parties…

The National, Trouble Will Find Me

This will be the soundtrack to my most depressing moments.


May 28th

Laura Marling, Once I Was an Eagle

Along with Anais Mitchell, Laura Marling is the artist I most wish I could be. Her songs inspire me to write and also make me never want to try, because I know I could never write anything as beautiful.

Leave a Reply

