The Ultimate Love Song

Sometimes I think about love, really think about what all it involves and the process of how it actually happens, and it seems so impossible! How can two people meet, get to know each other, decide they might actually be the one person they would like to spend their life with, and then make that kind of a commitment! I mean, what are the odds?! When I really get going with this, I have to make myself stop thinking about it because it freaks me out. I mean really, how on earth does this happen?!

For some reason today I decided to put together a playlist of my favorite love songs. One thing quickly became apparent, something I had never before realized about myself–I don’t really like love songs. Or rather, most of my favorite songs are not love songs.

While making my list I got lost on this trail and found myself disregarding so many of the classic love songs because they all felt silly to me.

Except for one.

“Beauty and the Beast,” I realized as I listened through the list I ultimately compiled with the help of Google and Twitter, is the Ultimate Love Song. It speaks to this very thing, the impossibility of love, by pointing out that this bending and changing of two hearts toward each other has happened millions and millions of times over, it is one of the few experiences that connects almost all humans since the beginning of time, and yet every time it takes us by surprise. This is its beauty. Love just happens, despite our best attempts to thwart it, despite our inability to properly handle it, despite our insistence that it can’t, that it won’t, that it will never. Love doesn’t make sense. You can’t ask questions. You just live your life, and then, apparently, BOOM, one day there it is.

Beauty-and-the-beast-ballroom-danceTale as old as time
True as it can be
Barely even friends
Then somebody bends
Unexpectedly

Just a little change
Small, to say the least
Both a little scared
Neither one prepared
Beauty and the Beast

Ever just the same
Ever a surprise
Ever as before
Ever just as sure
As the sun will rise

Tale as old as time
Tune as old as song
Bittersweet and strange
Finding you can change
Learning you were wrong

Certain as the sun
Rising in the east
Tale as old as time
Song as old as rhyme
Beauty and the beast.

I recognize that my feelings about this song may be shaded by my emotional attachment to the movie. And that gold dress. Oh, that dress! Obviously it doesn’t hurt that Celine and Peabo sing it, either. But somehow it wasn’t until today, as I happened upon this song in a particularly critical mood, that I not only saw but felt its true beauty.

Agree with me, or don’t. That’s the beauty of music–it’s subjective! It speaks to our personal experiences and tastes! But as far as I’m concerned the search is over. This is the ultimate love song. I look forward to a long and happy life together.

One thought on “The Ultimate Love Song

  1. Bonnie and I were just talking about how great these lyrics are the other day.

    Bittersweet and strange
    Finding you can change
    Learning you were wrong

    That is the essence of love—weathering the hurt of healing and realizing your failures while still being accepted and loved by the other and thereby finding yourselves more deeply connected as you grow together in your capacity to love, that is to sacrifice for one another.

    Great thoughts Laura!

Leave a Reply

