Aca-Believe It!

So I just finished watching Pitch Perfect for, oh, the fifth time, and I am not really capable of thinking about anything else right now. So in honor of my favorite* movie of 2012, I have decided to share with you the joy of a capella music.

First up we have the inimitable Whitney Houston. This track circulated pretty heavily after her death as a testimony to her incredible talent. She certainly was not one of those pop stars who relies on heavy production and pounding beats. I mean really, her voice never speaks for itself better than in this a capella version of “How Will I Know”:

Okay, moving on to the group a capella stuff…

I miss The Sing-Off (awkward Nick Lachey hand gestures and all). Why oh why we must live in a world where The Sing-Off dies after three short, beautiful seasons and American Idol keeps on chugging after ten I will never understand. The Sing-Off, you were too good for us!

My favorite group from this most recent season was The Dartmouth Aires. They may not be the most talented singers out there (though they are pretty freaking good) but they are some of the best performers I’ve ever seen. Proof A: their Queen medley. As they say in Pitch Perfect, nothing makes a grown woman feel more like a girl than a man who sings like a boy:

Another Sing-Off group I adore: Pentatonix. They have got the singing thing DOWN, and their arrangements are out of this world. Here they sing “Dog Days Are Over”:

Speaking of The Sing-Off one last time, judge Ben Folds released an album of greatest hits as a collection of college a capella renditions of his songs. Genius. My favorite from that album is the University of North Carolina-Greensboro Spartones performing “Not the Same”:

Glee is typically NOT a great place to look for real a cappella, but back in “the day” they used to trot out The Warblers every once in a while for a good old-fashioned a capella number. I haven’t watched the show for a few seasons now but this song remains on my mix. The Warblers sing “Teenage Dream”:

And last but not least, I can’t leave off the Riff-Off scene from Pitch Perfect. It’s my new goal in life to someday be involved in a spontaneous group singalong to “No Diggity”:

*Favorite in this sense referring to “most fun” and “most likely to watch 100 more times”–I recognize that it’s not an artistic achievement of any kind.

Leave a Reply

