Snack Time with Laura: Pumpkin Greek Yogurt!

Sometimes my life feels like one eternal quest to find the perfect snack to quell the between-meals tummy rumbles. Cheap, filling, easy to make and bring to work, low-calorie, and delicious–could such a wonderfood exist?

I’m no food expert, but I’ve managed to find a few delightful combos that are just too good to keep to myself. So today I introduce what will become a semi-regular feature, Snack Time with Laura.

Today’s snack: Pumpkin Yogurt.

I would be remiss if I allowed fall to pass without alerting you to this decadent treat that hits every single requirement on the perfect snack checklist

The day I discovered (read: Amanda told me about) Greek yogurt was a glorious day indeed. When I first started counting calories, a little over two years ago, I was desperate for high-protein snacks that were also low-calorie. Regular yogurt is okay but it’s also loaded with sugar, and, in the case of the “light” versions, fake sugar and artificial flavorings that, let’s be honest, does not make a cup of cultured dairy taste much of anything like chocolate silk pie.

Greek yogurt, on the other hand, has about three or four times the protein of regular yogurt, plus it’s thicker and creamier, plus it doesn’t even taste that bad on its own.

So for the past two years Greek yogurt has been a staple of my diet. I like it allll the different ways: with fruit, with honey, with a packet of Splenda, with granola if I’m feeling really decadent. But I recently stumbled upon a combination that has proved to be nothing short of a revelation.

Two words: pumpkin butter. I am a fan of every kind of “butter” Trader Joe’s produces*–don’t even get me started on the glories of honey apple butter on toast with peanut butter and chia seeds–but in the fall and winter there is nothing better than their pumpkin butter. It’s richer and thicker than their other varieties, and just one tablespoon in a cup of greek yogurt is a little piece of heaven.

Seriously, that’s it. That’s the recipe:

-1 T. Trader Joe’s pumpkin butter

-1 7 oz. container of Fage Total 2% greek yogurt

Directions: Mix. Eat.

Check your results against this visual guide:

almost there

Not quite! Keep trying…you’re almost there…

yougotit

You got it!

I have heard that Trader Joe’s sells their own pumpkin Greek yogurt, but I can’t imagine it being better than this DIY version. Plus, this way you have all that extra pumpkin butter for other equally awesome treats: put it on toast, in coffee (seriously, try it!), use it as a healthier substitute for oil in their pumpkin muffin mix. You really cannot go wrong here.

Until next time, friends, this has been…snack time with Laura.

*Side note: yes, I am aware of TJ’s cookie butter. No, I have not tried it. This is not an oversight; this is intentional. I don’t need to try it to know I can’t be trusted to be withing 50 feet of such black magic.

Leave a Reply

